New York Pizza

I have heard so much about how great and how much better New York puzaa was than… I guess every other pizza. So i was hoping for a nice, greeeezzy thin slice at Majestic Pizza, just a couple of blocks from Wall Street.

image

And what do I select but a thick crust, whole wheat Margharita pizza slice. How depressing.
My next foray into pizza land was based on the top 25 pizza places in New York in TimeOut magazine. And this was an excellent Neapolitan pizza, Prosciutto di Parma, at Keste, 271 Bleecker Street.

image

A nice thin crust, puffed up around the edge, with a tasty tomato-based sauce, house made mozzarella and Parma ham. Just like that delicious pizza in Naples.
And then as a last resort, before going home late last night, I stopped at Saraghina, on Halsey Street in Brooklyn and had a pizza Napoli with anchovies, Kalamata olives, fresh mozzarella and a nice tomato sauce.
image

Delectable and just as good as number four on the TimeOut list. Plus I got a chocolate croissant and another Italian pastry with my check. Cash only. I guess the bakery next door had closed and they were cleaning out their bakery next door. Better me than feeding it  to the pigs.

I’m still searching for that greezzzzy New York pizza.

This entry was posted in Food, Photographs, Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

